

CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

January 13, 2025, 6:00 p.m. Council Chambers 4845 Casa Loma Avenue

Councilmembers

Present:

Campbell, Huang, Lim, Singh, Rodriguez

Staff Present: Brown, Christian, Lixey, Pulone

CALL TO ORDER

The City Council/Successor Agency to the Yorba Linda Redevelopment Agency convened at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at 4845 Casa Loma Avenue.

ROLL CALL

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Pro Tem Carlos Rodriguez

PUBLIC COMMENTS ON THE ITEMS ON THE AGENDA

None.

AGENDA ITEMS

1. INTERVIEW OF LIBRARY COMMISSION APPLICANTS AND POSSIBLE APPOINTMENTS

The City Council interviewed the following nine (9) applicants for the Library Commission vacancies: Nishma Doshi, Robert Pease, Heather Siemons, Perla Marquez, Antonia

Cordero-Tomol, Alex Hernandez, Christina Smolskis, Angelica Cohen and Kenneth Tam. Applicants Brian Smolskis and Steve Vartanian were unable to attend the interview.

Mayor Janice Lim thanked the applicants for their participation and willingness to serve the community. Mayor Lim asked her colleagues to announce their top three candidates.

Mayor Pro Tem Carlos Rodriguez selected the following applicants: Alex Hernandez, Angelica Cohen and Kenneth Tam.

Councilwoman Peggy Huang selected the following applicants: Antonia Cordero-Tomol, Alex Hernandez and Kenneth Tam.

Councilwoman Tara Campbell selected the following applicants: Alex Hernandez, Christina Smolskis and Kenneth Tam.

Councilman Shivinder Singh selected the following applicants: Robert Pease, Alex Hernandez and Kenneth Tam.

Mayor Lim selected the following applicants: Antonia Cordero-Tomol, Alex Hernandez and Kenneth Tam.

Moved by Huang Seconded by Rodriguez

It is recommended that the City Council appoint Antonia Cordero-Tomol, Alex Hernandez and Kenneth Tam to serve on the Library Commission.

AYES (5): Campbell, Huang, Lim, Singh, and Rodriguez

CARRIED (5 to 0)

2. INTERVIEW OF TRAFFIC COMMISSION APPLICANTS AND POSSIBLE APPOINTMENTS

The City Council interviewed the following eight (8) applicants for the Traffic Commission vacancy: Christina Smolskis, Farid Cohen, Jagdish Patel, Juan Barnett, Perla Marquez, Sean Phayakapong, Anthony Johnson and Dale Goldfarb. Applicant Brian Smolskis was unable to attend the interview.

<u>RECESS</u>

Mayor Lim called a recess at 9:15 p.m. She reconvened the meeting at 9:20 p.m.

Councilman Singh stated that it had come to his attention that he may have received a donation in an amount that would prohibit him from participating further, therefore he recused himself from the rest of the interview selection process.

Mayor Janice Lim thanked the applicants for their participation and willingness to serve the community. Mayor Lim asked her colleagues to announce their top two candidates.

Councilwoman Tara Campbell selected the following applicants: Sean Phayakapong and Anthony Johnson.

Mayor Pro Tem Carlos Rodriguez selected the following applicants: Sean Phayakapong and Anthony Johnson.

Councilwoman Peggy Huang selected the following applicants: Sean Phayakapong and Anthony Johnson.

Mayor Lim selected the following applicants: Sean Phayakapong and Anthony Johnson.

Moved by Campbell Seconded by Huang

It is recommended that the City Council appoint Sean Phayakapong and Anthony Johnson to serve on the Traffic Commission.

AYES (4): Campbell, Huang, Lim, and Rodriguez

ABSTAINED (1): Singh

CARRIED (4 to 0)

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Mayor Lim adjourned the meeting at 9:35 p.m. to the next City Council/Successor Agency to the Yorba Linda Redevelopment Agency Joint meeting on January 21, 2025.

| | Cit | y Clerk |
|--|-----|---------|